WSOC Long Distance: golds for Russia and Sweden

Posted on | March 11, 2017 | Category: Arena, News

Mariya Kechkina, Russia was on absolutely top form today, winning by almost 5 minutes, with the home country taking the first four places in the women’s race. Erik Rost, Sweden took his second gold medal of the Championships with victory by more than 1 minute.

Mariya Kechkina pulled out a race almost 5 minutes quicker than second-placed Alena Trapeznikova. Polina Frolova gained her third individual medal of the Championships with bronze position, 14 seconds down on silver. Tove Alexandersson’s gold medal string came to an end as she was forced to retire because of sickness early on in the race, and Salla Koskela was also unable to finish. Leading non-Russian was Marjut Turunen, Finland.

The lead changed constantly in an enthralling men’s race where Erik Rost pulled ahead on the final loop. Kirill Veselov made up for his disqualification in the Middle race with a sound second place today, but the biggest excitement came with a frantic sprint finish for the bronze between the Norwegian Lars Moholdt and Russian Andrey Lamov. Moholdt literally stuck a toe out on the line to take third place by just a couple of centimetres, the photo finish camera being required to separate the two. Yesterday’s gold medallist, Stanimir Belomazhev from Bulgaria, mispunched today.

Conditions were again fast and icy and there were several tumbles leading to precious lost time. The course was again technical with some steep ups and downs in some places.

The final race tomorrow is the Relay; the women’s race starts at 14.00 local time and the men’s at 15.55.

Leading results


  1. Mariya Kechkina RUS 1:25:33
  2. Alena Trapeznikova RUS 1:30:27
  3. Polina Frolova RUS 1:30:41
  4. Tatyana Oborina RUS 1:32:52
  5. Marjut Turunen FIN 1:35:04
  6. Antoniya Grigorova BUL 1:39:31
  7. Evelina Wickbom SWE 1:39:34
  8. Petra Hancova CZE 1:40:33
  9. Johanka Simkova CZE 1:41:43
  10. Mirka Suutari FIN 1:44:05


  1. Erik Rost SWE 1:46:04
  2. Kirill Veselov RUS 1:47:22
  3. Lars Moholdt NOR 1:47:27
  4. Andrey Lamov RUS 1:47:28
  5. Andrey Grigoriev RUS 1:47:34
  6. Martin Hammarberg SWE 1:51:05
  7. Radek Laciga CZE 1:54:35
  8. Ville Petteri Saarela FIN 1:55:41
  9. Markus Lundholm SWE 1:57:08
  10. Ulrik Nordberg SWE 1:59:52
|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 August 2018

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • North American Orienteering Championships 2018
    17-24 August 2018

  • Orienteering World Cup Round 3
    31 August - 2 September 2018

  • MTB Orienteering World Cup FInal 2018
    21-23 September 2018

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation