World MTBO Championships: second gold for Emily Benham

Posted on | August 25, 2017 | Category: Arena, News

Emily Benham, Great Britain retained her crown in good style in today’s Long Distance race near Vilnius, Lithuania. The men’s gold went to Rasmus Søgaard, Denmark who won convincingly by over 3 minutes.

It was victory by 31 seconds for Emily Benham, who was strongest in the later stages. After having an injury during the previous race in the Relay, Martina Tichovska came back with a huge will and strength to take the silver medal. Marika Hara, Finland started well and led for the first half of the 38.0 km course with 440 m climb, but faded later and finished fifth. Bronze medallist is Olga Shipilova-Vinogradova, Russia, who was 47 seconds slower than Benham. Finland packed well into fourth, fifth and sixth places.

Rasmus Søgaard, who also won gold in the European Championships Long race this year, was fastest throughout the men’s course of 47.2 km with 520 m climb. He was the only rider to get above the planner’s estimated slowest winning time, 115 minutes. Closest challenger was the experienced Czech rider Jiri Hradil, 3.15 down, and bronze went to last year’s champion, Anton Foliforov of Russia.

Men’s podium: Jiri Hradil CZE, Rasmus Søgaard DEN, Anton Foliforov RUS  Photos: Hans Jørgen Kvåle

The Long distance took place in a hilly and detailed Lithuanian forest in Verkiu regional park. At first all the athletes had to find the best route choices between two lakes, and after crossing the road to find the best way to avoid ascent when crossing a huge meadow. Making good route choices was of significant importance, because there were many tracks and no-one could choose all of the optimal ones when the number of control points was high.

Junior champions Veronika Kubinova, Czech Republic and Thomas Steinthal, Denmark were both taking their second individual gold of the week.

Junior women medal winners: l to r Mia Raichon FRA, Veronika Kubinova CZE & Viktorija Michnovic LTU

Tomorrow is the final competition in WMTBOC, the Sprint. This will be live-streamed on IOF LIVECenter starting at 10.30 local time, and transmitted on the TV Olympic Channel and TV channels in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

Leading results, Long Distance


  1. Emily Benham GBR 1:52:40
  2. Martina Tichovska CZE 1:53:11
  3. Olga Shipilova-Vinogradova RUS 1:53:27
  4. Ingrid Stengard FIN 1:55:46
  5. Marika Hara FIN 1:58:20
  6. Antonia Haga FIN 1:58:27


  1. Rasmus Søgaard DEN 1:52:31
  2. Jiri Hradil CZE 1:55:46
  3. Anton Foliforov RUS 1:56:04
  4. Vojtech Ludvik CZE 1:56:50
  5. Grigory Medvedev RUS 1:56:56
  6. Lauri Malsroos EST 1:57:04

Junior women: Gold, Veronika Kubinova CZE; Silver, Mia Raichon FRA (+2.37); Bronze Viktorija Michnovič LTU (+2.42)

Junior men: Gold, Thomas Steinthal DEN; Silver, Adrian Jaeggi SUI (+2.48); Bronze Nojus Kalvaitis LTU (+2.59)

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation