World MTB Orienteering Championships – second gold for Tõnis Erm

Posted on | August 28, 2013 | Category: News

From left: Anton Foliforov RUS, Tõnis Erm EST, Samuli Saarela FIN. Photo: Ludomir Parfianowicz

Home rider Tõnis Erm has clearly hit top form at just the right time; today he won his second gold medal in two days, winning the Middle distance race at Mõedaka in Estonia by 5 seconds. The very experienced Marika Hara, Finland, second in the IOF World Rankings before these Championships, took the women’s title.

Erm was pushed hard for his win today; the next 7 in the results list all finished less than 45 seconds slower. Closest was Anton Foliforov, Russia, with Samuli Saarela in bronze medal position a further 7 seconds down. Five different nations took podium places.

Silver medal in the women’s race went to the ever-improving Emily Benham, Great Britain, who was 33 seconds down on the winning time. Susanna Laurila, Finland took the bronze medal with a time 1.58 slower than Marika Hara’s.  

top 3 women

From left: Emily Benham GBR, Marika Hara FIN, Susanna Laurila FIN. Photo: Ludomir Parfianowicz

In the Junior Championships, Svetlana Poverina, Russia, won the women’s title by the extremely impressive margin at Middle distance of 3 minutes and 37 seconds. The men’s title, as in the Sprint, was won by Cedric Beill, France, today by 22 seconds.

Tomorrow (Thursday) is a rest day, and the Championship races resume on Friday with the Relay, where the arena and competition area – “suburban forest” –  is at the Event Centre in Rakvere.

Leading results – Middle distance


  1. Marika Hara FIN 39:31
  2. Emily Benham GBR 40:04
  3. Susanna Laurila FIN 41:29
  4. Olga Vinogradova RUS 41:33
  5. Tatiana Repina RUS 42:26
  6. Cecilia Thomasson SWE 42:49


  1. Tõnis Erm EST 47:41
  2. Anton Foliforov RUS 47:46
  3. Samuli Saarela FIN 47:53
  4. Ruslan Gritsan RUS 47:59
  5. Luca Dallavalle ITA 48:09
  6. Hans Jørgen Kvåle NOR & Jussi Laurila FIN 48:15

Junior World Championships – Middle distance medallists


Gold – Svetlana Poverina RUS

Silver – Henna Saarinen FIN

Bronze – Ruska Saarela FIN


Gold – Cedric Beill FRA

Silver – Vojtech Ludvik CZE

Bronze – Oskar Sandberg SWE

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation