World MTB Orienteering Championships: Long distance titles to Finland and Czech Republic

Posted on | August 31, 2013 | Category: News

Yet another great race for Marika Hara. Photo: Ludomir Parfianowicz

Marika Hara, Finland won her third gold medal in successive races today, taking the Long distance title with a ride 2 minutes 53 seconds faster than her compatriot Susanna Laurila. The young Czech Krystof Bogar, riding in his first senior World Championships, won the men’s race by more than 3 minutes with Samuli Saarela, Finland in the silver medal position. Cedric Beill, France ended the week with 4 gold medals in the Junior Championships.

The six fastest in the women’s race were all well-known names in MTBO circles, and it was no surprise that Marika Hara was the fastest in the physically demanding Estonian forests today. The bronze medal went to the Swede Cecilia Thomasson, winner of the sprint earlier in the week, proving her ability in all types of terrain.

Krystof Bogar won 3 gold medals at the Junior World MTBO Championships in Hungary last year, but could never have expected to achieve gold at senior level this year. Now here he is with two golds, in the Long distance and the relay. Samuli Saarela was 3.06 slower today and bronze medallist Anton Foliforov, Russia was 3.56 down on Bogar’s time.

Cedric Beill, France had never got better than an 11th place in the Junior Championships before this year, but now he has achieved a clean sweep – all 4 golds. Today’s was by 1.31, with the silver and bronze medals going to riders from the Czech Republic. Svetlana Poverina, Russia won her third gold medal today; in the sprint she ‘only’ won silver! Finland and the Czech Republic are the destinations of the silver and bronze medals respectively.

So ends a very well organised Championships in Estonia. Full results from the week and much more information and photos can be found on the organisers’ website

Leading results – Long distance


  1. Marika Hara FIN  1:42:41
  2. Susanna Laurila FIN  1:45:34
  3. Cecilia Thomasson SWE  1:46:46
  4. Emily Benham GBR  1:47:33
  5. Ingrid Stengård FIN  1:48:18
  6. Maja Rothweiler SUI  1:50:13


  1. Krystof Bogar CZE  1:55:24
  2. Samuli Saarela FIN  1:58:30
  3. Anton Foliforov RUS  1:59:20
  4. Vojtech Stransky CZE  1:59:38
  5. Ruslan Gritsan RUS  1:59:44
  6. Tõnis Erm EST  1:59:53

Junior medallists


Gold – Svetlana Poverina RUS

Silver – Ruska Saarela FIN

Bronze – Katerina Novakova CZE


Gold – Cedric Beill FRA

Silver – Tomas Stanek CZE

Bronze – Vojtech Ludvik CZE

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation