World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships – Foliforov and Benham win the Sprint

Posted on | July 26, 2016 | Category: News

Those who follow the MTB Orienteering phenomenon, will certainly remember the exciting Long Distance Final of the European Championships, held in Idanha-a-Nova, in early July 2015. In that race, the Brit Emily Benham and the Russian Anton Foliforov went to the top of the podium together. They were back to do so, again in Portugal, this time in the first stage of the World MTB Orienteering Championships, which took place in Cantanhede.

Emily Benham and Anton Foliforov were the winners of the Sprint competition that opened the 2016 World MTB Orienteering Championships, held  in Cantanhede, Portugal. The race, which was held in spite of temperatures close to 40º Celsius, revealed the new World Champions of Sprint in the Elite and Junior categories and also the Youth European Champions, both men and women.

Benham e Foliforov
Emily Benham GBR and Anton Foliforov RUS stood victorious.

In the Men Elite class, the Italian Luca Dallavalle started defending the title achieved in 2015 in the Czech Republic, but found a super-motivated Anton Foliforov, Russia, the current leader of the World Cup and eager to recover a title previously held twice, in 2011 and 2014. In the end, the difference between the two stood at 32 seconds, a result that allowed Foliforov to taste his seventh individual world title, becoming the male athlete to win the most gold medals ever in this discipline. The third place fell to the French Cédric Beill, 37 seconds slower than the winner, winning his first World Championships. The big surprise came from Spain and goes by the name of Angel Garcia. He placed 5th with the time of 23:06, which sets an historical result for the Spanish MTB Orienteering, for the first time ever with an athlete placed in the top 10.

Anton Foliforov
Anton Foliforov RUS racing hard.

As for the Elite Women, the Brit Emily Benham and the Finn Marika Hara engaged in an intense duel from the first to the last metre which ended with the victory of Benham by the narrow margin of two seconds. Great figure of World MTB Orienteering in the last years, Benham was missing a gold medal in the World Championships to complete a brilliant track record. She finally achieved it on a torrid day in Cantanhede, against one of the world’s best, Marika Hara, with four individual World titles and four in the Relay, won between 2008 and 2015. The third place went to the young Finn Henna Saarinen, ascending the podium for the first time in her second year within the Elite, her former best result the 14th place achieved in the Sprint last year. Back in competition after a break of two years, Olga Shipilova Vinogradova, Russia, had an excellent performance, missing the bronze medal by 10 seconds. World Champion in 2015 and current leader of the IOF World Ranking, the Czech Martina Tichovska finished in the 6th position, 1 minute and 3 seconds after the winner.

Finally, in the competitions dedicated to the lower age groups, the Swiss Adrian Jaeggi surprised by winning the M20 class, offering a historic gold medal to Switzerland, the first ever in the Junior category. As for the female class, the Czech Veronika Kubinova proved that she is the best in the World in her class, achieving the gold medal for the third time in a row, before another favorite, the Russian Olga Mikhaylova. Finally, in the European Youth classes, Czech Republic and France proved to have some of the best young athletes in the World and shared gold. The Czech Jan Hasek won in the male class while the French Mathilde Sipos was the female winner.

Veronika Kubinova
Veronika Kubinova CZE defended her title in the Junior class. 


For complete results and further information, please visit the event webpage.


  1. Anton Foliforov (Russia) 22:08 (+ 00:00)
  2. Luca Dallavalle (Italy) 22:40 (+ 00:32)
  3. Cedric Beill (France) 22:45 (+ 00:37)
  4. Rasmus Soegaard (Denmark) 22:49 (+ 00:41)
  5. Angel Garcia (Spain) 23:06 (+ 00:58)
  6. Ruslan Gritsan (Russia) 23:11 (+ 01:03)


  1. Emily Benham (Great Britain) 17:17 (+ 00:00)
  2. Marika Hara (Finland) 17:19 (+ 00:02)
  3. Henna Saarinen (Finland) 17:59 (+ 00:42)
  4. Olga Vinogradova Shipilova (Russia) 18:09 (+ 00:52)
  5. Svetlana Poverina (Russia) 18:12 (+ 00:55)
  6. Martina Tichovska (Czech Republic) 18:20 (+ 1:03)


  1. Adrian Jaeggi (Switzerland) 20:31 (+ 00:00)
  2. Sauli Pietikäinen (Finland) 20:33 (+ 00:02)
  3. Sakari Puolakanaho (Finland) 20:56 (+ 00:24)


  1. Veronika Kubinova (Czech Republic) 14:12 (+ 0:00)
  2. Olga Mikhaylova (Russia) 14:38 (+ 00:26)
  3. Constance Devillers (France) 14:56 (+ 00:44)


  1. Jan Hasek (Czech Republic) 14:28 (+ 0:00)
  2. Eerik Nurminen (Finland) 14:35 (+ 00:07)
  3. Tobias Micko (Austria) 14:54 (+ 00:26)


  1. Mathilde Sipos (France) 15:41 (+ 00:00)
  2. Anastasia Cherednikova (Russia) 16:19 (+ 00:38)
  3. Lucie Rudkiewicz (France) 16:43 (+ 01:02)


Text by Joaquim Margarido

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation