World Mountain Bike Orienteeing Championships – Russians got both the Middle Distance golds

Posted on | July 27, 2016 | Category: News

Anton Foliforov and Olga Shipilova Vinogradova, both from Russia, were the winners of the Middle Distance final, in the second day of the World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2016. In the younger categories, France deserves to be highlighted for its two gold medals achieved in M20 and W17 classes.

The Middle Distance of the World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championship 2016, held this morning in Valongo do Vouga, won’t be erased from Vojtech Ludvik’s memory for some time. The Czech was the first to start, and also the first to finish his course; and with a time that would prove to be amazing, standing at 47:18 for a distance of 19.3 km. The truth is that he had to have nerves of steel to withstand the pressure of leading almost until the very end, just beaten by the Russian Anton Foliforov, the penultimate starter, and that would record a new best time by 43 seconds. Placed 3rd was another Russian athlete, Ruslan Gritsan, 47 seconds slower than his teammate. With this result, Foliforov kept the Middle Distance’s world title, reaching his second gold medal in these World Championships after winning the Sprint that opened the competition last Monday.

Vojtech Ludvik started first in today's middle distance and his amazing race was only beaten by the second last starter, Anton Foliforov.

Vojtech Ludvik started first in today’s middle distance and his amazing race was only beaten by the second last starter, Anton Foliforov.

In the Women Elite, the Russian Olga Shipilova Vinogradova was the winner with a time of 44:02 for a distance of 14.5 km, confirming that the two years pause didn’t affect her at all. Second placed, the current World Cup leader, British athlete Emily Benham, finished her race spending three seconds more than Shipilova Vinogradova, after winning the Sprint title on Monday. The third place went to the Danish rider Camilla Soegaard, taking her second individual bronze medal in the World Championships after Poland 2014, then in the Long Distance. The previous World Champion, the French rider Gaëlle Barlet, was the 5th ranked, 1:31 after the winner.

Olga Shipilova Vinogradova fully focused in the race when taking the gold in the middle distance.

Olga Shipilova Vinogradova fully focused in the race when taking the gold in the middle distance.

Among the younger categories, this time the focus is on France, thanks to Samson Deriaz and Mia Raichon’s victories in the Junior World Championships and the European Youth Championships, respectively. Deriaz found the strong opposition of the Finnish Sauli Pietikaïnen, winning by a margin of 3 seconds. Meanwhile, Raichon reached a comfortable victory of nearly two minutes over the Czech Vilma Kralova. In the W20 class, the Czech Veronika Kubinova turned out to be unbeatable, repeating the gold achieved last Monday and getting her fifth World Junior title in the last three editions of the World Championships. Finally, the new Youth European Champion is Danish and goes by the name of Thomas Steinthal, having beaten the Sprint European Champion, the Czech Jan Hasek, for just three seconds.

The young french rider Mia Raichon on her way to the victory in the EYMTBOC.

The young french rider Mia Raichon on her way to the victory in the EYMTBOC.



For complete results and further information, please visit the event webpage.

Men Elite

  1. Anton Foliforov (Russia) 46:35 (+ 00:00)
  2. Vojtech Ludvik (Czech Republic) 47:18 (+ 00:43)
  3. Ruslan Gritsan (Russia) 47:22 (+ 00:47)
  4. Cédric Beill (France) 47:56 (+ 01:21)
  5. Lauri Malsroos (Estonia) 48:28 (+ 01:53)
  6. Vojtech Stransky (Czech Republic) 49:01 (+ 02:26)

Women Elite

  1. Olga Shipilova Vinogradova (Russia) 44:02 (+ 00:00)
  2. Emily Benham (Great Britain) 44:05 (+ 00:03)
  3. Camilla Soegaard (Denmark) 44:43 (+ 00:41)
  4. Svetlana Poverina (Russia) 44:51 (+ 00:49)
  5. Gaëlle Barlet (France) 45:33 (+ 01:31)
  6. Martina Tichovska (Czech Republic) 45:50 (+ 01:48)


  1. Samson Deriaz (France) 40:43 (+ 00:00)
  2. Sauli Pietikäinen (Finland) 40:46 (+ 00:03)
  3. Nojus Kalvaitis (Lithuania) 41:00 (+ 00:17)


  1. Veronika Kubinova (Czech Republic) 37:10 (+ 0:00)
  2. Alena Fedoseeva (Russia) 39:47 (+ 02:37)
  3. Doris Kudre (Estonia) 40:30 (+ 03:20)


  1. Thomas Steinthal (Denmark) 33:03 (+ 00:00)
  2. Jan Hasek (Czech Republic) 33:08 (+ 00:05)
  3. Teemu Kaksonen (Finland) 34:06 (+ 01:03)


  1. Mia Raichon (France) 33:06 (+ 00:00)
  2. Vilma Kralova (Czech Republic) 34:55 (+ 01:49)
  3. Marina Oparina (Russia) 35:39 (+ 02:33)


Text by Joaquim Margarido

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation