World Masters Orienteering Championships: Sprint Final staged in Olympic Park

Posted on | October 12, 2009 | Category: News

The World Masters Orienteering Championships is this year a part of the World Masters Games being held in Sydney, Australia. Sprint is now an established part of the WMOC programme, and the Sprint Final was held in the Sydney Olympic Park, an area of very varied terrain which will have tested the competitors’ sprint techniques to the full.

Some well-known ex-elite runners are amongst the Sprint Champions, with eight nations in all being represented. In two of the classes, W45 and M60, victory was by just 1 second. Only one of the champions was also the winner in Portugal in 2008 – Peo Bengtsson of Sweden.

WMOC Sprint Champions 2009

W35 Natasha Key AUS

W40 Marquita Gelderman NZL

W45 Su Yan Tay AUS

W50 Gillian Ingham NZL

W55 Jennifer Bourne AUS

W60 Anne-Marie Holmström SWE

W65 Birgitta Johansson SWE

W70 Birgitta Thunell SWE

W75 Maureen Ogilvie AUS

M35 Nick Barrable GBR

M40 Bill Edwards NZL

M45 Michael Thierolf GER

M50 Warren Key AUS

M55 Leif E Larsen DEN

M60 Ossi Lakkala FIN

M65 Roland Alsen SWE

M70 Gunnar Lerfald NOR

M75 Peo Bengtsson SWE

M80 Kevin Paine AUS

M85 Hermann Wehner AUS

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 August 2018

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • North American Orienteering Championships 2018
    17-24 August 2018

  • Orienteering World Cup Round 3
    31 August - 2 September 2018

  • MTB Orienteering World Cup FInal 2018
    21-23 September 2018

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation