World Masters Championships in Ski Orienteering: Another gold medal for Sigurd Dähli

Posted on | January 17, 2007 | Category: News

The Norwegian Sigurd Dähli continues to prove his ability as an all-round orienteer.

In the World Orienteering Championships (foot orienteering) in 1981 in Switzerland he brought the Norwegian relay team home in gold-medal position, and he won an individual bronze medal over classic distance at WOC 1983 in Hungary. Nowadays he is just as successful in ski orienteering, and he won M50 in the Masters Championships this year by almost 10 minutes, repeating his success of 2005.

The World Masters champions are found from the sum of times in two races. Closest race this year was in M60, where Risto Orpana, Finland (most recently also M55 Champion in 2005) had a winning lead of just 25 seconds, with the third-placed competitor only 6 seconds further behind. Risto Orpana was also the M60 champion in the foot orienteering World Masters Championships in Austria last year.

Russia’s Viktor Korchagin, world champion at long distance in 1998, moved up a class this year and took the M40 crown by more than 4 minutes after winning M35 last year. Others retaining their titles from 2006 were Veijo Tahvanainen FIN in M65, Arvo Majoinen FIN in M80 and Galina Vershinina RUS in W60. Aune Jalava W75 champion this year, was W70 champion in 2003, 2004 and 2006; M75 champion this year, Pavo Pystynen FIN, was M70 champion in 2005. Oldest champion this year is Vilho Himanen FIN in M85.

The organisers of the World Masters Championships in Sweden have had a hard time! Lack of snow at the original venue, Asarna, forced the organisers to make a last-minute change and the whole package of races, which included the Swedish Ski-O Cup for elite ski orienteers, was moved about 160 km north to Akersjon, 90 km NW of Östersund.

2007 World Masters Champions

W35 Maarit Dahlman-Tervala FIN

W40 Irina Medvedeva RUS

W45 Päivi Raatikainen FIN

W50 Anttila Sisko FIN

W55 Marianne Bogestedt SWE

W60 Galina Vershinina RUS

W65 Lena Leandersson SWE

W70 Eila Pekkarinen FIN

W75 Aune Jalava FIN


M35 Andrey Shvedov RUS

M40 Viktor Korchagin RUS

M45 Igor Zvontsov BLR

M50 Sigurd Dähli NOR

M55 Teuvo Lehtinen FIN

M60 Risto Orpana FIN

M65 Veijo Tahvanainen FIN

M70 Mauri Aho FIN

M75 Pavo Pystynen FIN

M80 Arvo Majoinen FIN

M85 Vilho Himanen FIN

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation