The World Games: Sprint golds for Maja Alm and Jerker Lysell

Posted on | July 25, 2017 | Category: Arena, News

Maja Alm, Denmark had an outstanding victory, with a winning margin of 33 seconds, in the Sprint race in the old town quarter of Wroclaw today. Jerker Lysell, Sweden won the men’s race by 2 seconds.

The women’s race reached an exciting climax as the lead changed several times towards the end of the race. Anastasia Denisova, Belarus, was one of the first to set a time that would really challenge the best, and she finished in seventh place. The times were very tight until the final starter Maja Alm began taking several seconds off the fastest times as she ran almost without error round the course. She now has her first World Games gold to add to her string of World Championship gold medals. Silver medal today went to the Swiss athlete Elena Roos and the bronze to Lina Strand, Sweden.

In the men’s race, Ruslan Glibov, Ukraine set the first finish time of under 15 minutes. This held for quite some time, and at the end of the race it was beaten by only three athletes: Lysell, Yannick Michiels from Belgium and the very experienced Sprint runner Matthias Kyburz, Switzerland. Michiels looked a likely winner at one stage, but a small hesitation towards the end cost him the gold. Kyburz was 12-15 seconds down on the lead in the first part of the race, but as always ran the second half of the race very strongly. Glibov’s time was just one second away from a medal.

There were some detailed sections in small park areas and interesting route alternatives on the courses, run on a cloudy but dry day in central Wroclaw from an attractively laid out arena in one of Wroclaw’s central squares.

Tomorrow the action moves to forest terrain for the Middle Distance competition, with the women’s race starting at 9.30. Follow it all on LIVE Orienteering!

Leading results, Sprint


  1. Maja Alm DEN 13:59
  2. Elena Roos SUI 14:32
  3. Lina Strand SWE 14:39
  4. Galina Vinogradova RUS 14:39
  5. Sabine Hauswirth SUI 14:45
  6. Helena Jansson SWE 14:51


  1. Jerker Lysell SWE 14:40
  2. Yannick Michiels BEL 14:42
  3. Matthias Kyburz SUI 14:57
  4. Ruslan Glibov UKR 14:58
  5. Martin Regborn SWE 15:10
  6. Søren Bobach DEN 15:11
|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation