PostFinance Sprint: Victories for Simone Niggli – of course! – and Jerker Lysell

Posted on | June 24, 2012 | Category: News

The 2012 PostFinance Sprint took place this afternoon in the streets and small parks of St. Gallen in Switzerland. Simone Niggli took her 5th out of 5 possible wins in this year’s World Cup by 14 seconds, in front of a big home crowd. The men’s race was won by Sweden’s Jerker Lysell.

Closest to Simone in the results was Maja Alm, Denmark with her best-ever international performance. Maja had the privilege of sitting in the ‘leader’s sofa’ – a big red sofa placed on the stage beside the finish – for about 14 minutes until Simone, the last starter, came in to take first place. Maja was then disqualified for allegedly using an illegal route, but later reinstated. Third was the young Swede Tove Alexandersson, 29 seconds slower than Maja.

Jerker Lysell is a Sprint specialist, getting the bronze medal in Sprint in the recent European Championships. He was second in the PostFinance Sprint last year and with his best possible form went one better this time, winning by 12 seconds. Second third and fourth were the Swiss Matthias, Matthias and Matthias – Kyburz, Merz and Müller – again showing the strength in depth of the Swiss team, with Martin Hubmann also on the podium in joint 6th place. Lysell had the same time as Merz at the third radio control, but got an 8-second lead by the fourth radio point and led thereafter.

Switzerland will again be the focus of attention in three weeks’ time when the World Championships get under way in Lausanne. One thing is for sure: the Swiss team will not be lacking in confidence after this weekend’s results!


Leading results, PostFinance Sprint


  1. Simone Niggli SUI 14.44
  2. Maja Alm DEN 14.58
  3. Tove Alexandersson SWE 15.27
  4. Venla Niemi FIN 15.40
  5. Annika Billstam SWE 15.44
  6. Ines Brodmann SUI 15.47


  1. Jerker Lysell SWE 16.22
  2. Matthias Kyburz SUI 16.34
  3. Matthias Merz SUI 16.39
  4. Matthias Müller SUI 16.53
  5. Olav Lundanes NOR 16.54
  6. Martin Hubmann SUI, Vojtìch Král CZE & Jonas Leandersson SWE 17.02




|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation