MTBO World Cup: second win for Emily Benham in gruelling Long Distance

Posted on | June 5, 2017 | Category: Arena, News

Emily Benham, Great Britain took her second win of the round today in convincing style, finishing the fastest by almost 4 minutes. The Czech Republic team has achieved a victory in each of the three races, this time through Vojtech Ludvik.

Ingrid Stengard FIN was the closest challenger to Benham at the end of the 25.1 km race, 3.58 down, and third-placed Svetlana Poverina was 6.15 down on the winning time. In the early stages Martina Tichovska CZE and Camilla Søgaard DEN had short spells in the lead, then Benham was fastest from control 6 onwards. Apart from the legs to control 5 (19th fastest) and 7 (23rd) she was within the fastest six on every leg. Her average speed on the very hilly course with some complex route choices in Grafenschlag, Austria was 3.49 min per km.

Another notable performance was that of Algirda Zaliauskaite from Lithuania, currently IOF World Ranked number 16, who finished sixth today.

Ludvik enjoyed a fine victory but it was close: 6 seconds separated him and Anton Foliforov RUS at the end. They had equal times at control 18 on the 19-control course over 34.9 km, then Ludvik was 5 seconds quicker on the final leg and 1 second quicker to the finish line. Earlier it was Grigory Medvedev RUS who had the fastest time – from the start to control 8. Middle Distance winner Luca Dallavalle ITA was fastest in the middle section (controls 10-15), and it was Foliforov or Ludvik from then on. Ludvik’s time per km was 3.02, but it could have been better; he was 37th on leg 9-10 and 26th on 16-17. Yesterday’s winner Krystof Bogar CZE was forced to retire after control 8.

This World Cup round will have given valuable experience to the organisers; Austria hosts the World MTBO Championships next year. The MTBO elite meet up again for the European Championships and World Cup Round 2 in France, starting on 29th July.

Leading results, Long Distance


  1. Emily Benham GBR 1:36:03
  2. Ingrid Stengard FIN 1:40:01
  3. Svetlana Poverina RUS 1:42:18
  4. Martina Tichovska CZE 1:42:30
  5. Camilla Søgaard DEN 1:43:51
  6. Algirda Zaliauskaite LTU 1:45:19


  1. Vojtech Ludvik CZE 1:45:54
  2. Anton Foliforov RUS 1:46:00
  3. Grigory Medvedev RUS 1:46:46
  4. Luca Dallavalle ITA 1:48:59
  5. Ruslan Gritsan RUS 1:49:20
  6. Pekka Niemi FIN 1:49:30


|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 August 2018

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • North American Orienteering Championships 2018
    17-24 August 2018

  • Orienteering World Cup Round 3
    31 August - 2 September 2018

  • MTB Orienteering World Cup FInal 2018
    21-23 September 2018

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation