MTB Orienteering World Cup Final: Home terrain victory for Tonis Erm

Posted on | September 21, 2012 | Category: News

Photo: Reigo Teervalt

Today’s Sprint Final provided success for home athlete Tonis Erm, who achieved his best-ever result in World Cup competition, and for pre-race favourite Marika Hara, Finland, who enhanced her position at the top of the women’s World Cup standings.

On a largely flat course with urban streets and patches of parkland in the small town of Räpina in Estonia, Tonis Erm won to enthusiastic acclaim by 8 seconds over the current leader in the World Cup standings, Jussi Laurila, Finland. Erm’s previous best in his 7 years as a top mountain-bike orienteer was a second place, again in a Sprint, in the 2010 World Cup in Portugal. In third place today was Marek Pospisek, Czech Republic, who was 34 seconds down on the winner’s time.

Jussi Laurila finished second today at the same time strengthening his lead in the overall World Cup.
Photo: Reigo Teervalt

Marika Hara’s win was by a more emphatic 23 seconds. Second was the experienced Austrian Michaela Gigon, and third place was taken by Susanna Laurila, Finland who was 11 seconds slower than Gigon. Five different nations were represented amongst the podium placings in the women’s race. Christine Schaffner, Switzerland, second in the World Cup standings before today, has not been able to come to Estonia.

Tomorrow the racing switches to forest terrain at Värska, beside the Estonia-Russia border, with the Long Distance Final, the last individual event of the World Cup season. Bikers will race two laps on the same 1:20,000 scale map. The women have a course 24.5 km long with an estimated winning time of 90 minutes, whereas the men’s race is over 32.0 km with a winning time estimated at 115 minutes.

Leading results – Sprint


  1. Marika Hara FIN 21:07
  2. Michaela Gigon AUT 21:30
  3. Susanna Laurila FIN 21:41
  4. Camilla Søgaard DEN 21:52
  5. Anke Dannowski GER 22:03
  6. Martina Tichovska CZE 22:06


  1. Tonis Erm EST 23:23
  2. Jussi Laurila FIN 23:31
  3. Marek Pospisek CZE 23:57
  4. Ruslan Gritsan RUS 24:05
  5. Frantisek Bogar CZE 24:06
  6. Lauri Maksroos EST 24:10
|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation