Men’s relay: gold at last for France!

Posted on | August 20, 2011 | Category: News

The men’s relay title went to France after a dominating and near-faultless run by Thierry Gueorgiou on the last leg, where he ran away from the opposition and set up a comfortable winning margin. Norway took the silver medals and Sweden the bronze.

The first leg ended with Norway (Carl Waaler Kaas) handing over first, followed closely by Estonia (Olle Kärner), with France (Philippe Adamski) and Italy (Klaus Schgaguler) a few more seconds behind. There was then a group of four runners 1.50 down on the lead: Hungary, Russia, Sweden and Switzerland, followed a little later by Czech Republic, Australia, Lithuania, Latvia and Denmark.

Norway (Anders Nordberg) got ahead early on the second leg, but France (Francois Gonon) and Sweden (Olle Boström) then caught up after a mistake by Nordberg. Soon after, Italy (Alessio Tenani) joined the group. These four teams were still not separated when they came to the arena passage, and made no significant mistakes on the loop before the changeover.

On the third leg France (Thierry Gueorgiou) ran very strongly and got a lead over Norway (Olav Lundanes) of 1.09 by control 6. Sweden (David Andersson) was 3.16 down on France’s time here, somewhat ahead of Italy (Michael Mamleev). Switzerland (Daniel Hubmann), 5th at the changeover, ran strongly and picked up a place by the arena passage, where Norway was 1.28 down on France. Thierry Gueorgiou had no navigational problems, or distractions of other kinds as in previous years, on the last part of the course and was joined by his team-mates for a joyous run up to the finish, to the acclaim of the huge crowd in the arena.

A record 40 nations have teams in the men’s relay, the final race of these Championships.

Leading results

1) France (Philippe Adamski, Francois Gonon, Thierry Gueorgiou) 1:53:48
2) Norway (Carl Waaler Kaas, Anders Nordberg, Olav Lundanes) 1:57:52
3) Sweden (Anders Holmberg, Olle Boström, David Andersson) 1:58:03
4) Switzerland (Matthias Merz, Fabian Hertner, Daniel Hubmann) 1:58:35
5) Russia (Andrey Khramov, Dmitrii Tcvetkov, Alexey Bortnik) 2:03:12
6) Lithuania (Vilius Aleliunas, Simonas Krepsta, Jonas Vytautas Gvildys) 2:03:19

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation