JWOC Relays: double victory for Switzerland

Posted on | July 15, 2016 | Category: Arena, News

Winning Swiss men’s team                                                    Photos: Malin Björkvist

The Swiss junior team completed a highly successful week by winning both of today’s Relays – the women by a massive 4.52 and the men by 2.28.

The women’s race was dominated by Swiss runners throughout, but it was in fact Valerie Aebischer for SUI 2 who was first into the changeover after the first leg, with Paula Gross for SUI 1 finishing fifth. Paula handed over to Sofie Bachmann, who ran what was probably the decisive performance in the race, the fastest on this leg by 1.15 to take the lead at the second changeover. Simona Aebersold saw SUI 1 home to a comfortable victory, but Anna Haataja, Finland ran the last leg 9 seconds faster to bring her team up from ninth to silver medal position. The bronze medals went to Norway with Anine Lome on second leg having a particularly good run.

SUI women 15-7-16

Swiss women celebrate victory

France led the field into the first changeover in the men’s race, but Thomas Curiger for SUI 1 was just behind and Riccardo Rancan brought the team up into the lead on the second leg, with Joey Hadorn making victory certain on the last leg. Sweden took the silver medals, thanks in particular to Simon Hector who ran the fastest second leg and Isac von Krusenstierna on last leg where he gained 5 places. Olli Ojanaho, Finland also gained 5 places on the last leg to bring his team up into bronze medal position. An even bigger gain was achieved by Audun Heimdal, Norway, who with a run just 1 second slower than the fastest (Joey Hadorn), brought his team up from twelfth to fifth.

So ends this year’s Junior World Championships, held in beautiful and very challenging Swiss countryside, and very capably organised by a team led by Simone and Matthias Niggli.

Leading results


  1. SUI (Paula Gross, Sofie Bachmann, Simona Aebersold) 1:39:01
  2. FIN (Leeuukka Hanhijarvi, Enni Jalava, Anna Haataja) 1:43:54
  3. NOR (Ingrid Lundanes, Anine Lome, Eide Ingeborg) 1:44:08
  4. SWE 1:46:00
  5. GBR 1:46:24
  6. HUN 1:47:11


  1. SUI (Thomas Curiger, Riccardo Rancan, Joey Hadorn) 1:41:26
  2. SWE (Anton Forsberg, Simon Hector, Isac von Krusenstierna) 1:43:54
  3. FIN (Topias Ahola, Anton Kuukka, Olli Ojanaho) 1:45:07
  4. FRA 1:46:21
  5. NOR 1:46:25
  6. CZE 1:46:37


|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation