Double Victory for Salmi family

Posted on | July 17, 2007 | Category: News

World Masters Orienteering Championships, Kuusamo, Finland

Vroni König-Salmi and Janne Salmi were victorious in W35 and M35 respectively in the 2007 World Masters Championships, held last week at Kuusamo, a Finnish winter resort close to the Russian border.

Vroni’s win was by a convincing 1 minute 42 seconds over Anna Gornicka-Antonowicz from Poland, whilst Janne’s victory over the Russian Igor Gorbatenkov was by 37 seconds. Bronze medallists in the same classes were Sanna and Sören Nymalm, who like Vroni and Janne both have masses of international experience behind them. For Janne, now the Finnish national coach, there was special satisfaction after he missed victory by just 11 seconds in 2005.

More than 4,000 competitors made the journey to the venue north of the Arctic Circle with the home nation exceptionally well represented, a fact reflected by the champions list which includes no less than 15 Finns. Many of the finals races were very closely contested and in W65 there was a tie for first place, with both Torid Kvaal (NOR) and Birgitta Olsson (SWE) receiving gold medals. In M55 the winning margin was just 2 seconds, and in M45 it was 5 seconds.

Seven of this year’s champions – indicated by * in the list below – have been champions previously in this century. Erkki Luntamo, who has 1 year left in M90 before he moves up to M95, took his third M90 gold having previously won 2 golds in M85. Birgitta Olsson and Ingrid Roll won W60 and W65 respectively in 2001, and Sole Nieminen topped the podium in W75 in 2003. Tapio Peippo repeated his victory of last year; he also won M55 in 2004. Veikko Loukonen (M55, 2003) and Rune Carlsson (M65, 2004) make up the seven.

World Masters Champions 2007

W35 Vroni König-Salmi SUI

W40 Teresa Kollanen FIN

W45 Sirkka Oikarinen FIN

W50 Liz Campbell GBR

W55 Irina Stepanova RUS

W60 Maija Verha FIN

W65 Torid Kvaal NOR

Birgitta Olsson SWE*

W70 Ingrid Roll NOR*

W75 Raila Sinkkilä FIN

W80 Sole Nieminen FIN*

W85 Lillian Røss NOR

M35 Janne Salmi FIN

M40 Timo Karppinen FIN

M45 Ari Kattainen FIN

M50 Jukka-Pekka Rantio FIN

M55 Tapio Peippo FIN*

M60 Veikko Loukonen FIN*

M65 Björn Linnersjö SWE

M70 Rune Carlsson SWE*

M75 Mauri Rantala FIN

M80 Arvo Majoinen FIN

M85 Vilho Himanen FIN

M90 Erkki Luntamo FIN*

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation