Brian Porteous elected as IOF President

Posted on | July 20, 2012 | Category: News

Brian Porteous (to the left) was today elected as IOF President. Åke Jacobson, IOF President 2004-2012 was appointed IOF Honorary President. Photo: Pirjo Valjanen

At the 2012 IOF General Assembly today, Brian Porteous, Great Britain has been elected IOF President for the coming 2-year Congress period. He takes the place of Åke Jacobson, Sweden who has retired from the post today.

The three Vice Presidents elected are Michael Dowling, Australia, Leho Haldna, Estonia and Astrid Waaler Kaas, Norway.

The following have been elected to the IOF Council: Owe Fredholm, Sweden; Tatiana Kalenderoglu, Turkey; Timo Ritakallio, Finland; Niklaus Suter, Switzerland; Maria Silvia Viti, Italy; Ting-wang ‘Dominic’ Yue, Hong Kong; Laszlo Zentai, Hungary.

In recognition of his service to the IOF in many capacities over many years, Åke Jacobson was proposed as an IOF Honorary President and this was accepted by the meeting by acclaim. Only Sue Harvey, Great Britain, has previously received this honour.

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation