2015 World Cup begins in Tasmanian summer

Posted on | December 29, 2014 | Category: News

The World Cup in 2015 consists of 11 competitions in all, including the Oceania Championships in Australia, races in Norway and Sweden, the World Championships in Scotland and the World Cup Final races in Switzerland. The first three competitions take place in Tasmania immediately after New Year.

A good number of the world’s leading athletes will be in Tasmania to begin their quest for World Cup glory, including 2014 World Cup overall winners Tove Alexandersson SWE and Daniel Hubmann SUI. Tove will be challenged for top position by, amongst others, Sprint World Champion Judith Wyder SUI; she has announced that winning the World Cup is a major goal for her this year. The fourth- and fifth-placed runners from 2014, Lena Eliasson SWE and Ida Bobach, DEN will also be present, and a strong challenge can be expected too from several home runners, the most well-known being Hanny Allston who was Sprint World Champion in 2006. New Zealand will also be strongly represented, with Lizzie Ingham in particular expected to score well.

Amongst the men, quality performances can be expected from several Australian and New Zealand team members, and they and Daniel Hubmann will be challenged by a range of international stars including Sprint World Champion Søren Bobach DEN and the overall World Cup winner in 2013 and third-placed in 2014, Matthias Kyburz SUI.

The World Cup round in Tasmania starts with a two-part Sprint competition in Launceston: qualification (2 heats) on Friday 2nd January and final (top 20 from each heat) the following day. The qualification race is on quite hilly parkland and ornamental garden terrain bisected by a river, whilst the final is on the campus of the University of Tasmania.

The other two competitions are a Middle Distance race on rocky granite terrain at Coles Bay on Thursday 8th January and, two days later, a Long Distance race on gully-spur terrain and part of an old tin-mining area near St. Helens. Both races have individual start, with 2- and 3-minute start intervals for the Middle and Long races respectively.

This World Cup round is an integral part of the Oceania Carnival, a five-day open event that has attracted orienteers of all ages and standards from all over the world. Winners of the Oceania Regional Championships will be determined, and there will be Australia-New Zealand Challenges at both elite and junior levels. Additionally there is a full social programme – and much more! Full information from the website http://oceania2015.com; click on ‘World Cup Info’ menu heading to access bulletins with all race details.

Reports, leading results and pictures will appear on this website after each of the World Cup races.

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • World Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    119-24 March 2019

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2019
    23-29 June 2019

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2019
    27 July - 3 August 2019

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    12-17 August 2019

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Orienteering World Cup Final 2018
    4-7 October 2018

  • South American Orienteering Championships 2018
    7-9 November 2018

  • Asian Orienteering Championships 2018
    23-26 December 2018

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2019
    4-11 February 2019

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation