Sprint Qualification: a total of four Swiss winners

Posted on | May 16, 2012 | Category: News

The last finalists for the European Orienteering Championships 2012 were determined at the Sprint qualification in Falun, Sweden, this morning. The winner of the first qualification heat was Switzerland’s Martin Hubmann who led heat A through all interval controls. Jerker Lysell, Sweden, was also a clear winner in heat B where Daniel Hubmann, the current Sprint World Champion, finished on a shared 9th place with Christian Christensen, Denmark. In the third heat, Jonas Leandersson, Sweden, climbed from 6th place at 1,7 km to a shared second place with Bulgaria’s Kiril Nikolov. Switzerland’s Matthias Kyburz was the fastest out of the heat C runners.

Sweden’s Helena Jansson took an expected win in the women’s first qualification heat with a 30 seconds’ gap to Ines Brodman, Switzerland. Ines’ compatriot Judith Wyder was the fastest in heat B with Denmark’s Maja Alm finishing second. Simone Niggli, Switzerland, again won her heat, this time by 55 seconds to Denmark’s Emma Klingenberg on second place.

For complete results from the Sprint qualification, please visit the event website. The Sprint final will also take place in Falun on Saturday starting at 13:30 local time.

|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 August 2018

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2018 and World Cup Round 2
    3-8 February 2018

  • Junior World Ski Orienteering Championships 2018
    3-8 February 2018

  • Ski Orienteering World Cup Round 3
    4-12 March 2018

  • World Masters Ski Orienteering Championships
    4-12 March 2018

  • EOC

    European Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 May 2018

  • World Masters MTB Orienteering Championships 2018
    26 June - 1 July 2018

  • World Masters Orienteering Championships
    5 -13 July 2018

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation