North American Orienteering Championships: Crocker and Smith claim two golds, USA wins the Björn Kjellström Cup

Posted on | October 22, 2012 | Category: News

The 2012 North American Orienteering Championships were held at the Delaware Water Gap, about 100 kilometers to the west of New York City, with individual races in the Middle, Long, and Sprint distances and a concluding relay. This was also the 17th biennial competition for the Björn Kjellström Cup, contested by the senior teams from Canada and the USA, as well as the initial competition for the Future Champions Cup for the junior teams.

The women’s races were dominated by the USA’s Alison Crocker and Samantha Saeger, who took first and second in both the Middle and the Long; in the Sprint they reversed positions with Saeger claiming the win. Both are rapidly improving on the international scene; most recently Crocker was 20th in the Sprint at WOC2012 in Switzerland. The men’s Middle was won by Eric Bone from the USA, while Ross Smith from the USA claimed the titles in the Long and the Sprint.

The relays were for national teams only and were held Sunday immediately after the Sprint. At the Senior level the titles were split, with Canada taking the men’s and the USA the women’s. In the process the USA won the competition for the BK Cup. For the juniors, it was the reverse, with Canada winning for the girls’ and the USA for the boys’. The competition for the FC Cup ended up in an exact tie!

It was a glorious long weekend with about 700 competitors from 20 countries, all organized flawlessly by the Delaware Valley OA. Maps and results are at:

Individual medal winners



  1. Alison Crocker, USA 35:27
  2. Samantha Saeger, USA 35:46
  3. Louise Oram, CAN 38:02


  1. Eric Bone, USA 35:43
  2. Ken Walker, USA 37:30
  3. Mike Smith, CAN 37:41



  1. Alison Crocker, USA 1:04:50
  2. Samantha Saeger, USA 1:10:50
  3. Louise Oram, CAN 1:12:17


  1. Ross Smith, USA 1:40:20
  2. Serghei Logvin, CAN 143:18
  3. Brian May, CAN 1:44:34



  1. Samantha Saeger, USA 13:42
  2. Alison Crocker, USA 14:05
  3. Louise Oram, CAN 15:13


  1. Ross Smith, USA 13:58
  2. Andrew Childs, USA 14:21
  3. Eric Kemp, CAN 14:22
|| Print page ||
  • Search

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 August 2018

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2018 and World Cup Round 2
    3-8 February 2018

  • Junior World Ski Orienteering Championships 2018
    3-8 February 2018

  • Ski Orienteering World Cup Round 3
    4-12 March 2018

  • World Masters Ski Orienteering Championships
    4-12 March 2018

  • EOC

    European Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 May 2018

  • World Masters MTB Orienteering Championships 2018
    26 June - 1 July 2018

  • World Masters Orienteering Championships
    5 -13 July 2018

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation