European Championships Sprint victories to Tarasenko and Belomazhev

Posted on | January 20, 2015 | Category: News

Stanimir Belomazhev on his way to European Championships gold medal in Switzerland. Photo: Martin Jörg

There was sunny weather and enough snow for the first competition of the European Ski Orienteering Championships, the Sprint.

The women’s competition was won by the Russian Iuliia Tarasenko in 13:10, ahead of Mervi Pesu (Finland) and Magdalena Olsson (Sweden).

Iuliia Tarasenko got “revenge” after last years missed medals at home Championships. Photo: Martin Jörg

Last year at the European Ski Orienteering Championships in her home country, Iuliia Tarasenko, missed winning medals three times. But this year she has won the gold medal in Sprint distance with a very good race from the beginning, and throughout the second half she was in the lead. The bronze medal is Magdalena Olsson’s first individual European Championships medal.

In the men’s class Bulgarian Stanimir Belomazhev was the fastest with a 12 second lead over Øyvind Watterdal (Norway) and Andrey Lamov (Russia). Stanimir Belomazhev won the Long distance race at the European Ski Orienteering Championships last year. The gold medal in Sprint distance is now his third European Championships gold.

Oyvind Watterdal as the best Norwegian on a third place. Photo: Martin Jörg

Results, splittimes and GPS-Tracking:


Men (3.4 km, 18 controls):

  1. Stanimir Belomazhev (Bulgaria) 12:15
  2. Øyvind Watterdal (Norway) 12:27
  3. Andrey Lamov (Russia) 12:29
  4. Andreas Holmberg (Sweden) 12:36
  5. Staffan Tunis (Finland) 12:36
  6. Peter Arnesson (Sweden) 12:43
  7. Eduard Khrennikov (Russia) 12:44
  8. Erik Rost (Sweden) 12:45
  9. Lars Moholdt (Norway) 12:49
  10. Ulrik Nordberg (Sweden) 12:51


Women (3.1 km, 14 controls):

  1. Iuliia Tarasenko (Russia) 13:10
  2. Mervi Pesu (Finland) 13:32
  3. Magdalena Olsson (Sweden) 13:41
  4. Mira Kaskinen (Finland) 13:44
  5. Audhild Bakken Røgnstad (Norway) 13:45
  6. Mariya Kechkina (Russia) 13:47
  7. Milka Reponen (Finland) 13:49
  8. Hana Hancikova (Czech Republic) 13:51
  9. Frida Sandberg (Sweden) 13:56
  10. Josefine Engström (Sweden) 13:58



|| Print page ||
  • Search the Website

  • IOF Main Sponsor

    IOF Main Sponsor

    Nokian Tyres

  • IOF Sponsors

    IOF Sponsors

    Siven Sport
    BML Print

  • World Championships

  • Nokian Tyres World Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Trail Orienteering Championships 2018
    4-11 August 2018

  • World Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 August 2018

  • Other Upcoming Events

  • Ski Orienteering World Cup Round 1
    26 November-1 December 2017

  • European Ski Orienteering Championships 2018 and World Cup Round 2
    3-8 February 2018

  • Junior World Ski Orienteering Championships 2018
    3-8 February 2018

  • Ski Orienteering World Cup Round 3
    4-12 March 2018

  • European Orienteering Championships 2018
    5-13 May 2018

  • IOF Partners

  • International Olympic Committee

  • ARISF_logos_05

    Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federations

  • International World Games Association

  • International Masters Games Association

  • Global Association of International Sports Federations

  • World Anti-Doping Agency

  • International University Sports Federation (FISU)

  • Conseil International du Sport Militaire (CISM)

  • European University Sports Association

  • International School Sport Federation